Beautiful berries – raspberries, strawberries, blackcurrants, red currants and dessert gooseberries.

The berry patch looks like a jungle; all the rain has produced loads of lush green growth that has tangled together. The fruitcage looks like it may fall down at any moment, but  it is doing its job. The birds seem to be leaving the berries alone and despite the weather the berries  are ripening.

Picking them is not for the faint hearted as you really do need to fight your way in. During a break in the rain this afternoon, I braved the jungle and was rewarded with a fine selection of produce!

There are still many un-ripened berries on the bushes with no sign of any blueberries yet. I picked a few from each bush but the glut has still to appear.

I think the first berry crop needs to be eaten as it is, fresh and unaltered. Others I will jam, freeze, stew and jelly but these I think will just be enjoyed in the pure form – yummy! I love the taste of fresh summer berries and hope this harvest will be the first of many more.

Can you spot the glimmer of berries hidden in the bushy, wild and overgrown fruit cage?

The only pests we have are slugs! They have been having a wonderful  munch on my strawberries that I having lovingly tended all spring.  The straw surrounding them is very soggy, probably providing a cosy home for slugs and snails. Hubby suggested a beer trap – I think I will give it a try!

Her x

3 responses to “Beautiful berries – raspberries, strawberries, blackcurrants, red currants and dessert gooseberries.

  1. You’d think with all this wet weather, there’d be no fruit to harvest. Our fruit cage is rather jungle-like as well, but there are some fruits hiding in there! The slugs keep beating me to the few strawberries we have, but everything else seems to be fine (yay).

  2. Like you, I have lots of lush green growth but now need the sunshine to help ripen the fruit and encourage my dahlias to appear! Your summer fuits look lovely. I hope you’re not struggling too much with everything packed in boxes?

    • Ahh…my dahlias have appeared but look like they have a lot of growing to do. We are in a semi-camping like state living in the house at the moment. I am also urging the sun to appear, to ripen your fruits and allow my building work to start!

Leave a Reply

