Should I plant an asparagus bed? My pros and cons…

I have previously wondered about planting an asparagus bed.  This is what I came up with:

Pros

1. I like asparagus.

2. It costs a lot to buy so would be a good crop to grow.

3. After establishing, it will produce for up to 20 years.

4. If I had planted some a few years ago when I first considered it I would have some now.

Cons

1. The crowns cost a lot to buy in the first place.

2. I bought some plants last year that were reduced, made the effort to dig a trench etc and they didn’t grow.

3. Not everyone in the family likes it.

4. Should I risk planting it again for it not to grow a second time?

5. It takes a few years to establish.

6. Growing from seed would take three years to produce a crop.

7. It will take up space and I won’t get anything from it for a least 2 years.

8. I need to commit an area of the garden to be an asparagus bed.

9. They are tricky to grow.

10. My hubby will say “I told you so” if I try again and they don’t grow.

After considering all of this I recently found some more reduced plants in the garden centre. They were 50 per cent off! I have mentioned before about my weakness for reduced plants…so I bought them. I spent a tiring afternoon trying to dig a trench 10 inches deep as the instructions said. The best I managed was about secen inches. I made a ridge, spread out the spider-like roots, sieved the soiled on top, filled in the trench and now I will cross my fingers and hope for them to grow.

At least next year I won’t still be considering the pros and cons; I will be admiring the spears and feeling confident about picking them the following year!

Her x

14 responses to “Should I plant an asparagus bed? My pros and cons…

  1. Hey good for you! I have some to plant and you have inspired me to get digging that trench. You have perfectly illustrated how to set them in too, thanks. Who cares if no one else in your family likes it-more for you!

  2. I did and I love it. Add another con to your list though. When it’s in season it grows fast! I have to cut mine every 5 days or less. One day you see nothing there and then suddenly it’s over a foot tall.
    Add to your pros: Rabbits and squirrels won’t eat it.
    Enjoy!

  3. I wish it didn’t take so long to produce a harvest. I would be worth the wait though. I am going to plant some this summer. Best of luck with your crop!

  4. I grew some from seed last year, now 1 year old plants. I’ve just sown more from seed, all males again so I know they will be productive. Yes, a long process I know! Good luck with your crowns, the trench looks great to me!

    • WillowCottageGardeners

      Thanks, maybe I should consider sowing some seed. It could be my back up plan if the crowns don’t grow!

  5. Hi, what a great blog you have! Asparagus are great, once you’ve got them, they’ll keep producing for 25 years! Anyway, just wanted to let you know that your blog is enjoyable to read, I’ll be tuning in! 🙂

  6. Hello, yes agree with Sam that you’ll have an endless supply of these lovely greens once you’ve got them going. I’m building a permaculture food forest at home and I’ve planted some asparagus from seed, they’re in the ground growing, slowly. Will wait and see how they turn out. I’ll definately be tuning in your blog as well. Keep it up!

  7. Hello, yes agree with Sam that you’ll have an endless supply of these lovely greens once you’ve got them going. I’m building a permaculture food forest at home and I’ve planted some asparagus from seed, they’re in the ground growing, slowly. Will wait and see how they turn out. I’ll definately be tuning in your blog as well. Keep it up!

  8. Pingback: Look at my asparagus – they only went and bloomin’ grew!!! | WillowCottageGarden

  9. Great article. I really enjoyed it.
    Here is another great article on how to grow your own asparagus.
    http://www.wascene.com/home-garden/how-to-grow-asparagus/
    Thanks for sharing.
    Jen

Leave a Reply

