Here’s my early May garden update

The hardening-off process is under way and I am twitchy to get everything planted in the garden. I need to really try to hold back as the nights are still cool. I know that, as the soil still feels cold, my carefully nurtured seedlings will not thrive when planted out, but just sulk instead. I really want to make room for the tomato plants in the greenhouse. Regular readers will know that my tomato plants are feeling better and are currently in the conservatory growing vigorously and threatening to turn my house into somewhere David Bellamy would feel at home.

Outside the garden is recovering from the chicken attack. I initially thought the chickens may have had my broad beans, but the hardy little chaps have survived a vigorous scratching and popped through the soil this week.

The grow bag strawberries are growing well in the fruit cage.

They are further on in the wheelbarrow. It’s tricky to see on the photo, but the wheelbarrow strawberries are covered in flowers. These have been with me for a few years but continue to produce a good crop every year. All I do is give them a mulch of homemade compost every spring. I think the old metal wheel barrow warms up in the sun and boosts the growth of these strawberries as they are always the first to crop.

My outdoor-sown peas have been unsuccessful this year. I have sown loads of pea seeds but they have suffered from chickens, weather and maybe even mouse damage. In this photo you may wonder what I am talking about as you can clearly see lots of growth…take a closer look and you will spot what I actually have is one pea growing and one potato plant growing! I have noticed a few potatoes growing in the pea patch. Ah well, I may just harvest these instead. I have started some peas in the greenhouse and I will try to fill in the gaps after they have hardened off.

I had a great tip from Promenade Plantings and I really wanted to try it out.   I have planted little broccoli plants inside my beanpole frame. The idea being that the growing beans protect the plants from pigeons and the broccoli plants can slowly grow over the summer. In autumn, the beans are taken down to reveal the hidden plants within that can then take centre stage.  I had a few spare plants and have nothing to lose so I am giving this a try. I will report back how it goes. Thanks again to Promenade Plantings for the great idea.

That’s about all for the garden. I am expecting it to start blooming in the next few weeks so until then….

Her x

2 responses to “Here’s my early May garden update

  1. I hope the PSB tip works for you! I was going to do it again this year, and (hopefully) plant some beans without PSB under them plus pkant some PSB on it’s own and see which does best. I’m now crossing my fingers for the both of us!!

    • WillowCottageGardeners

      Cross them well! I have also just planted some on their own. We should both get a good comparison!

Leave a Reply

