It’s tomato time! Bring on the Nutscene twine and grow bags.

Our tomato plants have been growing so well in the conservatory, where they have been recovering from their sickness, that the time had come to plant them in the newly fixed greenhouse. The weather has been changeable, again, this week so the greenhouse is still full of all the plants I had wanted to plant out. There was nothing else for it – everything would just have to budge along and make room!  If I left the tomatoes to grow any taller they would topple over.

We have tried lots of different methods for growing tomatoes in the greenhouse and have settled on using twine to support the vines.

This year I used Nutscene twine that Hubby bought me for my birthday. He tells me he followed a link on My Tiny Plot blog site as an advert caught his eye when browsing and he thought I would like it. He was right, I did!

I tie the twine around the bottom of the grow bag and knot firmly.

Then I tie it again at the top of the greenhouse to a piece of garden wire running along the whole length of our greenhouse. You can also see all the little plants hardening off outside in this picture.

Next,  I cut little crosses in the supposedly organic  grow bags and plant in the tomato plants. Ta da….

The tomato plants grow happily up the twine. I just occasionally encourage them but wrapping them around the string.

Now, you may be wondering why the grow bags on the end have black pots on them – they are there to provide some extra growing space. I cut the bottom out of a medium plant pot and insert it into the grow bag.

I fill the pot with some extra compost and plant straight into them.

These particular tomatoes are a vigorous grafted strain that I picked up from our local garden centre. I thought I would give them a try and see how they do as they were reduced – I have mentioned before about my weakness for discounted plants!

I don’t think I would pay £3.99 per plant for these  but at 50p each I thought they were worth a punt.

I remember which plant is which by using a permanent marker to write on the grow bags.

So what did I end up planting?

3 x Cherry Conchita (grafted)

3 x Sun Cherry

3 x Gardeners Delight

2 x Harlequin

2 x Harbinger

2 x Pomodoro

1 x Beef steak (grafted)

1 x Sungold (yellow variety)

We still have room for a couple more tomato varieties, a few cucumbers and a a gherkin.

I hope our tomato plants like their new home and grow well for us this year. I am already optimistically looking forward to huge abundant crops of tomatoes. On holiday last year, we were so inspired by a wonderful 92-year-old Italian man who tended his field of tomato plants lovingly each day.  I was thinking of him today when I was planting up my grow bags. I know we cannot compare with his small holding but who knows, one day we may get close.

Her x

4 responses to “It’s tomato time! Bring on the Nutscene twine and grow bags.

  1. What a great selection of tomatoes! I’ve just gone for a few cherry varieties, and depending on how things go, I think I’d like to have more varieties next year. You’re absolutely spot on when you say there’s nothing like homegrown tomatoes…

  2. What a set-up you have! It looks like a wonderful landscape, everything is so neat and tidy. Like a magazine ready photo shoot!

    • WillowCottageGardeners

      Not if you look closely! All those plants outside had to go back inside the greenhouse. It’s a bit of a squash and a squeeze now! Her x

  3. You had me at Nutscene!!!!

Leave a Reply

