Garden flower pot makeover on a budget

The glory of the spring bulbs had faded and we were left with sad-looking pots. I have been growing lots of flowers in the greenhouse this year and I wanted to see if I could grow a good selection for container planting.

I tipped out the old plants, saved the bulbs for next year, and put the old soil on the compost heap. I filled the pots with general compost, added a handful of organic chicken pellet fertiliser, and planted up some dwarf cosmos, ganzia and lobelia.  Not much I know, but I have gone for three different heights. The packets of seed probably cost less than £5.

So, what do they look like?

Before…

After…

They don’t look great at the moment but give it a few weeks and they should be blooming.

There were a few pots with pansies in that didn’t look too bad. I just gave these ones a mini makeover and I was really pleased with the result.

I usually just go to a garden centre and buy a selection of plants for my pots. It will be interesting to compare how these budget pots look in comparison to previous years.

Her x

2 responses to “Garden flower pot makeover on a budget

  1. I’ve been doing a spot of pot makeover myself these past few weeks (dodging the showers) to add another splash of colour and, likewise on a budget too. I’m loving the two pots on the right (2nd photo). The design on the first one is something i’m looking for to stand next to my pond with a few dwarf umbrella palms and the weathering on the second looks fantastic.

    As always, great post.

Leave a Reply

