Chocolate jubilee birthday cake

I made a cake this weekend for my brother-in-law’s birthday. He loves chocolate so the flavour was sorted, I just had to decide how to decorate it. I felt inspired my the recent jubilee celebrations and decided to go for a Union Jack. Some red, white and blue M&M’s on offer at the local supermarket sealed the deal.

I had two little helpers (both the girls) and we were all really pleased with the result.

 

 

The peanut M&M’s are stuck on nicely with chocolate ganache (150ml double cream heated with 150g of chocolate). The ganache makes a good (and tasty) coating for the cake. The cake is edged with Cadbury’s chocolate fingers and finished with some red ribbon.

The children enjoyed copying a picture of the Union Jack – a bit like painting by numbers! I would recommend this method of cake decorating.

 

 

The cake itself is a duck egg sponge. I am always looking for ways to use up my eggs and making huge sponge cakes can easily take 6-8 eggs.

In fact I will be posting more about my egg mountain later this week.

Her x

6 responses to “Chocolate jubilee birthday cake

  1. Mmmmm…. love this cake, it looks delicious and what a great idea!
    I also have a mountain of eggs so I’m very popular with my friends and family! I’m always on the look out for inspiration 🙂

  2. Pingback: My top ten ways to use up extra eggs | WillowCottageGarden

  3. Thank you! I was trying to find out if kit-kats/ chocolate fingers would stick to ganache as I prefer it to buttercream! Very helpful!

Leave a Reply

